Pennsylvania’s No Fault Divorce Law Has Changed

The Pennsylvania legislature has changed the no fault divorce law.

Divorcing

Divorcing

The waiting period for a unilateral divorce was reduced from two to one year. Act 102 of 2016 was signed by the Governor on October 4, 2016, effective in 60 days – December 3, 2016.

The new law applies only to periods of separation which begin after the effective date. Couples who separate on or before December 3rd are subject to the old law, which requires a two-year period of separation before a unilateral no-fault divorce can be granted.

The new divorce law does not change any of the other existing grounds for divorce: a divorce can still be granted based on mutual consent, with a 90 day waiting period, or based on fault grounds.

The new law will make it easier to obtain a divorce where one spouse is not willing to cooperate by signing an affidavit of consent. In some cases, it will affect the economic interests of the parties, if one spouse is paying alimony pendente lite while the divorce case is pending.

If you have any questions about this, you should consult a Divorce Attorney.

Updated December 2, 2016

1 Trackback

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *